Peltier’s Top 5 for 2013

A little bit about this list: First, the year of the film is not limited to an American 2013 release date. So basically anything is game. But, as I looked back at my diary, I soon realized that films like THE GODFATHER: PARTS I & II and CASABLANCA and classics of the like would dominate, and would not allow other films (some may call “lesser”) to shine. I decided to add another rule for my Top 5–the films listed here are first-time viewings during this past calendar year. I will also amend my list to reflect, as Tyler Smith has suggested, where I saw each film. Here we go.

1. Allen’s CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS (1989), DVD at Dr. Carl Freedman’s lovely home

2. Lean’s LAWRENCE OF ARABIA (1962), 70mm print at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica

3. Wong’s IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE (2000), 35mm print at the UCLA Billy Wilder Hammer Theatre

4. Bunuel’s THE DISCREET CHARM OF THE BOURGEOISIE (1972), 35mm print at Tarantino’s New Beverly Cinema

5. Achache’s THE HEDGEHOG (Le hérisson) (2009), 35mm print at Tarantino’s New Beverly Cinema

One thought on “Peltier’s Top 5 for 2013

  1. Pingback: Top Five Things I Watched: Tyler RE Smith | FADE OUT

Leave a comment